McIntosh High School Class of 2014

Salutatorian Airyn Nash, Salutatorian Sue Liang and Valedictorian Jacob Wilson. Photo/Ben Nelms.

Gabriel  Absi

Adam Kevin Adey

Oliver Sebastian Adlam

Jabari Marquis Oluwaseyi Ajao

Edwin  Alberto

Elizabeth Ann Allaire

Nicholas William Alvey

Luke Noble Anders

Cortland Marie Anderson

Jaqueline  Andrade Orozco

Paul Jacob Appleman

Samuel Bernard Archbold

Justin Robert Ashby

Isabella Nicole Henley Avery

Matthew Christopher Baca

Madeleine Faye Ballentine

Marcella Celina Bamdad-Haghighi

Anna C. Barfield

Emily Dawn Barnes

Amanda Mary Bartholomew

Daniel Clay Batchelor

Matthew Cabell Baynes

Ashton Leigh Baze Read More»

Sandy Creek High School Class of 2014

 Salutatorian Sarah Estrada and Valedictorian Savannah Eichhorn. Photo/Ben Nelms.

Joseph Samuel Alexander

Francisco Javier  Alfaro Arredondo

Cadie Jean Allen

Broderick Omarr Allen, II

Gabriel Tyler Arnold

Julian Jacob Austin

Maria Fernanda Avila Figueroa

Todd Christopher Baker

Brandon MacArthar Ballard

Nicholas Charles Bates

Tabitha  Marie Beckom

Justin Matthew Belk

Eduardo Kei Bernuy Laos

Langston Rayf Berry

Chloe Vernice Beverly

Maegan Rebecca Blessitt

Lorenzo Gabriel Broadwater

Celene Renee’ Brooks

Emily Elizabeth Brooks

JaCari Malik Brooks

Justin Patrick Brown

Maceo Leon James Brown Read More»

Starr's Mill High School Class of 2014

Valedictorian Vivian Nguyen and Salutatorian Julia Oden. Photo/Special.

James Samuel Adams

Andrew Carson Adcox

Paige Mattaliano Aguilar

Jason Curtis Akins Jr.

Faiz Shiraz Aly

Marco Amalfitano

Elizabeth Wheeler Brereton Andrews

Alexander James Ashley

Alexis Nicole Autera

Ryan Christopher Avidano

Nader Baaklini

Malik Ahsumé Bailey

Brandon Scott Barbe

Jordan Q Bassan

Samantha Margaret Bauer

Grace Emma Beardsley

Brooke Elise Beatty

Melanie Grace Beckwith

Khalil Cortez Bell

Frederick Carlisle Bergmann

Caitlyn Anne Bernhard

Kevin Michael Bird

Lauren Savannah Black

Kelly Amelia Blackmon Read More»

Whitewater High School Class of 2014

Valedictorian Bonnie Hester and Salutatorian Austin Dill. Photo/Special.

Abigail Kerri Ackerson

Joseph Scott Adamson Jr.

Elisabeth Anne Alexander

Michael Austin Alexander

Kenneth Thomas Allen

Sarah Elizabeth Alley

Heath Lee Alread

Christian Bailey Aragon

Katherine Nicole Avrit

Benjamin Uriah Barnett III

Kyjana Lalluvia Barnett

Bryce David Bayens

Chase Logan Bayus

Alora Denin Beckwith

Aaron Lee Benson

David Bryan Bergen

William Daniel Bishop

Brandon Andrew Blanchette

Blake Robert Bohan

Nicholas John Bottka

Devon Elizabeth Sawell Boullion

Bayley Michelle Bowers

David Michael Bowler Read More»

Fayette's 2014 class gets ready for graduation

The 2013-2014 school year in Fayette County has come to a close. And with the end of the school year, it is time to take a look at the valedictorians and salutatorians at each of Fayette’s five high schools.

Each of the valedictorians and salutatorians were asked a number of questions by the school system. Several of those questions and their responses are included below.

The Fayette County High School valedictorian is Menaka Reddy, daughter of Narem Reddy and Boey Kheem Tan. Read More»

Language students excel at FLAG competition

Starr’s Mill High students show off their awards from the annual FLAG Spoken Language Contest. A total of 18 students competed earning 17 Superior ratings and one Excellent rating in their spoken languages. Photo/Special.

A total of 38 foreign language students from Fayette County High, Sandy Creek High, Starr’s Mill High and Whitewater High schools competed in the annual Foreign Language Association of Georgia (FLAG) Spoken Language Contest at Decatur High School.

Students competed in the areas of French, German and Spanish and brought home 22 Superior, nine Excellent and seven Notable awards based on their level of competency in conversing in their target language.

Judges rated students on language fluency as well as comprehension, pronunciation, vocabulary, and grammar/syntax.

Fayette school system receives large FACTOR grant

Tere Goodwin, a trained Stewards of Children facilitator and Alternative School counselor, attended the FACTOR/PCA benefit dinner to raise funds for the program. Fayette County Sheriff Barry Babb served dinner to attendees;he posed for a photo with Goodwin afterwards. Photo/Special.

A grant received by Fayette FACTOR (Fayette Alliance Coordinating Teamwork Outreach and Resources) will allow all school employees to be trained in Darkness to Light’s child sexual abuse prevention program, Stewards of Children.

The grant, from the Pittuloch Foundation in Atlanta, is funding the majority of the training initiative that will take place during post-planning, after the school year ends, and during pre-planning, before the next school year begins. Read More»

Mentors honored at annual breakfast

William Whitehead, Jr. addresses mentors at the annual Friends Mentoring appreciation breakfast. Photo/Special.

Just one person, listening, helping, encouraging, and believing in another, is all it takes to change someone’s life. That one person is a mentor.

The Friends Mentoring program honored its adult and HiTeen (high school) mentors with an annual appreciation breakfast on May 9 at the LaFayette Educational Center. Read More»

Twice is nice

Both teams shot a combined group photo following the 8-1 boys soccer win at Kennesaw State Friday night. The Lady Chiefs preceded the match with their own 4-1 win over crosstown rival Starr's Mill in the all-Fayette final. Photo/John Munford.

McIntosh girls, boys sweep state soccer finals

McIntosh's soccer teams made it a double-good night, winning both the AAAAA championship finals and ending the boys' second-straight undefeated season with their 44th win in a row Friday night at the Kennesaw State University football stadium.

The Lady Chiefs got the evening started with a tight tilt with Starr's Mill. Jackie Gray struck first for McIntosh more than halfway through the first half, but six minutes later a goal from Sara Yoss knotted the score at 1-1. Read More»

Records fall at state track meet

The Our Lady of Mercy Bobcats broke three records on their way to a second-place finish in the A-Private classification of the state boys track meet in Jefferson last weekend.

Christian Coleman won individual state titles in the 100-meter dash (10.38) and 200-meter dash (21.10), with both of those times setting new A state meet records.

Another meet record was broken by the Bobcats’ 4x100-meter relay team of Coleman, Lawrence Bryant-Tillman, Delfayeo Matthews and Jordan Thomas (41.88). Read More»